Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Telamon

Why does playing MIDIs with MCI screw up my game loop?

Telamon    157
For someone who isn''t a complete newbie, I seem to need a lot of help :-) If I have a win32 proggy locked to 30 fps using this code: // lock to 30 fps while((start_time - GetTickCount() < 33)); in the game loop, and then I start playing a MIDI file using MCI, why would this no longer work? Does MCI play with the timers? How can I fix this? I thought the solution might have to do with multithreading, but my game loop gets screwed up even when another app is playing MIDIs. I think I need a new way to lock fps. What do you think? ----------------------------- Let be be finale of seem, seems to me.

SteveC    122
One thing you could do is change the updating from being frame-based to being time based.

I''m guessing what your doing every frame time is telling every game object to do its work based on ''I do this much work per frame''

If you game loop worked on a delta-time mechanism you wouldn''t have to worry about the frame rate - unless it gets really slow and choppy, but then you have to load balance.

So you just compute the number of milliseconds or ticks or whatever you think is right ( such as a seconds as a float ) and then tell all your game objects that x amount of time has passed.

As far as the MIDI file interupting your game app, are you using any other MCI commands?

Telamon    157
This is for a SpaceWars game I''m writting using the win32 GDI (and no MFC). I am only using MCI to play MIDIs (and what a headache that was!) The basic game loop looks like this:

In WinProc-

// enter main event loop
while(TRUE)
{
// test if there is a message in queue, if so get it
if (PeekMessage(&msg,NULL,0,0,PM_REMOVE))
{
// test if this is a quit
if (msg.message == WM_QUIT)
break;

// translate any accelerator keys
TranslateMessage(&msg);

// send the message to the window proc
DispatchMessage(&msg);
} // end if