problem with exercise in C++ book

Started by
7 comments, last by Zahlman 19 years, 6 months ago
I have Beginning C++ Game Programming by Michael Dawson and I'm on the exercise titled "I ve completed the code and the program runs fine. It asks for those numbers and its fine but then it asks for your last name. I enter it and when i press enter the program quits. I checked and it seems i have no errors in the code. Why does it exit?
Advertisement
Why do you post asking such a question with absolutely no code to show? How the hell are we supposed to know what it's doing?@@?!?!?!
sorry about that im new at this. Here is my whole code using the compiler Dev C++:

// Lost Fortune
// A personalized adventure

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using std::cout;
using std::cin;
using std::endl;
using std::string;

int main()
{
const int GOLD_PIECES = 900;
int adventurers, killed, survivors;
string leader;

// get the information
cout << "Welcome to Lost Fortune\n\n";
cout << "Please enter the following for your personalized adventure\n";

cout << "Enter a number: ";
cin >> adventurers;

cout << "Enter a number, smaller than the first: ";
cin >> killed;

survivors = adventurers - killed;

cout << "Enter your last name: ";
cin >> leader;

//tell the story
cout << "\nA brave group of " << adventurers << " set out on a quest ";
cout << "- in search of the lost treasure of the Ancient Dwarves. ";
cout << "The group was led by that legendary rogue, " << leader << " . \n";

cout << "\nAlong the way, a band of marauding ogres ambushed the party. " ;
cout << "All fought bravely under the command of " << leader;
cout << " , and the ogres were defeated, but at a cost. ";

cout << "Of the adventurers, " << killed << " were vanquished, ";
cout << "leaving just " << survivors << " in the group.\n";

cout << "\nThe party was about to give up all hope. ";
cout << "But while laying the deceased to rest, ";
cout << "they stumbled upon the buried fortune. ";