• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Unity [web] INITIATE ME.

This topic is 4958 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Yeah. I'm not sure just how accurate that thread title is, but whatever. So here's the thing: I'm a web designer at the moment, I've recently been upgraded from 2D/3D Artist. I don't know if any of you have seen my work, but some is floating around these forums somewhere. So to further my advancement in web design, I've gotten this fledgling company to foot the bill on some authoring programs, and have been digging into Flash and javascript. Now-- at heart, I'm a game designer. And I've been itching over the years to realize these game ideas, so much to the point that you could translate code line-by-line from volumes of outlines and concept drawings I've made. Anyways, I do in fact have a programming friend, but he's of the mind of "well, if it's going to be this, then it might as well be that", and he goes on like that until we're faced with making the next Half-Life 2. He's written everything from .NET to Assembly, so I've grown to expect that side of him. "If it doesn't rake in millions, what's the point?" But aside from these EPIC PROJECT ideas *we* have, there are also smaller ideas that I have that are low-commitment, and can be enjoyed on a large scale despite the fact that there'll never be a Collector's Edition. In short, I want to design games for the Web(in case you didn't gather that two paragraphs ago), and I'm done depending on him to take my lead. I know that unless I do this for myself, I'll end up doing another high-poly 3D engine that'll only get half done... which has happened twice already. Now, I've been reading up on capabilities of online languages, but I'm still torn. I've seen capabilities of javascript put to excellent use, especially on this board, and I already know enough of it t