polygon edges and alpha blending

Started by
6 comments, last by Solias 19 years, 5 months ago
I'm new to OpenGl so i've been doing some simple experimenting to get the hang of it. Ive setup a single multitextured quad in OpenGL using triangle strips as my primitive type. Ive got blending turned on with GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA as my blending function. The polygons colour is white (1.0, 1.0, 1.0, 1.0) and I see an alpha blended white diagonal line show through my texture that is the edge of the two poly triangles that make up the quad. This white line only appears on my nVidia card however and does not appear on an ati card that i tested the application on. If I turn off alpha blending the white line disappears so i'm convinced it has to do with blending. My rendering states are set up like so: glClearColor(1.0, 1.0, 1.0, 0.0); glPointSize(5.0); glEnable(GL_POINT_SMOOTH); glEnable(GL_LINE_SMOOTH); glEnable(GL_POLYGON_SMOOTH); glHint(GL_PERSPECTIVE_CORRECTION_HINT, GL_NICEST); glShadeModel(GL_SMOOTH); glDisable(GL_DEPTH_TEST); glEnable(GL_BLEND); glBlendFunc(GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA); If anyone could shed some light on this most frustrating problem it would be most appreciated!
Advertisement
your background is white polygons are white and the line is white? i cant understand the prolem well. but it may be a problem with fixed points.
+-+-+-+-+-STR
I don't fully understand what you are doing here. Maybe post some more of the drawing code and possibly a screen shot of the bug. My first thought was that you might be using GL_CLAMP, however that causes a similar problem on ati cards while "working" on nvidia cards. It also only happens at the edge of the texture.

Ive hacked out the meat of the code that i was experiencing the problem on and have created a program with only the necissary code
which follows below. I'll try to get a screen shot of the problem in action but for now clearer description of the problem is: