Sign in to follow this  
Normalocity

GameForum - "Where Game Design Lives"

Hello. First let me introduce myself as a new member. Normalocity is a very normal guy, as you can probably guess. I've been studying and practicing software engineering for over ten years, have always had a love of games from playing to creating, and I'm always looking for more information and great advice to hone my programming skills. To that end I've been a member on the JavaGaming.org forums for years (even before they became officially hosted by SUN). I've also started my own forums that focus exclusively on game design - that is, you won't find any pro-Java or pro-C or pro-anything on my forum site, because it's language and implementation agnostic. It's all about discussing the design of games from top to bottom, without the implementation details. It's open to the public, including the completely technically inexperienced, as it is intended to serve as a gathering place for all people with great game design ideas. Of course, what's the point of talking about game design without connecting people with the developers that can make it all come together? Well, there would be no point, except that I do direct people back to places like GameDev and IndieGamer to get their projects implemented, and hope to be a collaborate member of the online game developer community in general. Please stop on by, we'd love to have you. http://gameforum.game-host.org:8080/phpBB2/

Hi there!

I'm not trying to put you down or anything, I'm geniunly curious. So take this as a chance to show of.

What does your forum have over GameDev.net (yes, this page) own Game Design thread?

And a small tip: Anyone with a PHP enabled webspace or old computer with MySQL can have a phpBB2 forum. Renaming the folder and getting a own look would look a bit more professional.

Best of luck!
/JP

A perfectly reasonable question. :)