Sign in to follow this  
aidan_walsh

Passing a pointer as a function argument

aidan_walsh    739
Hey all. I'm posting this here because I am totally new to C++, and some of the concepts it involves. Pointers would be one of them. I've been looking at the pointer tutorial at cplusplus.com, but I cannot for the life of me figure out what I am doing wrong in trying to pass a pointer as an argument. Perhaps I don't even need to use a pointer, but it just seemed approporiate to pass by reference. Maybe I'm wrong. While it would be technically accurate to say that this is part of a homework question, and I'm fully aware of the GDNet policy on such, the assaignment is to model one of the colleges computing labs in OpenGL. To do this I decided to declare a number of structures that would keep account of the positions of the models, and use arrays to organise an finite number of these, as none would need to be created in runtime.
//declared in the global declarations area
typedef struct Computer{
	int x,y; //coordinates relative to the room
}Computer;

int DrawGLScene(GLvoid)							
{
	glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);	
	glLoadIdentity();						

Computer * c = &computers[0];
	drawComputer(c);

return TRUE;							
}

BOOL drawComputer(Computer * c)
{
        //OpenGL co-ordinate code
	return true;
}

I get these errors error C3861: 'drawComputer': identifier not found, even with argument-dependent lookup error C2365: 'drawComputer' : redefinition; previous definition was a 'formerly unknown identifier' To be totally honest, I've really only started working with VS about a week ago, so I still don't know exactly what she means by some things... But from I gather from this its can't seem to determine what I want to pass a pointer as the argument. I've also used
BOOL drawComputer(Computer *c)
and
BOOL drawComputer(Computer (*c))
, but I keep getting the same error. Anyone care to shed some light on the matter for me, please?

nickwinters    183