Sign in to follow this  
Ang88

[java] Getting a Process Handle and Modifying memory address values?

Ang88    122
I am fairly new to java, and i am learning it in school. I am trying to learn how to get a process handle, then modify the value of certain memory addresses within that process. The process is an outside process. So far i have found this site (http://www.jniwrapper.com/docs/javadoc/winpack/com/jniwrapper/win32/process/Process.html ) that seems to help, but im not sure how to go about doing it. If anyone knows how to do this in java that would be great

Guest Anonymous Poster   
Guest Anonymous Poster
I read that title and thought 'wft, did I accidentally click on the C forum, circa gamedev 1995?'.....

Ang88    122
Quote:
Original post by Anonymous Poster
I read that title and thought 'wft, did I accidentally click on the C forum, circa gamedev 1995?'.....

hmm ok, but it would be nice if someone could get me started in the right direction

my aim is aporto88

Palidine    1315
i don't know if you can do any of this in java. i suppose you could with some embedded C code or something or perhaps there's a nice lib out there somewhere. anyway here's how to enumerate the currently active processes on your machine:

http://www.codeproject.com/threads/enumprocnt5.asp?df=100&forumid=4071&exp=0&select=658622

getting into the process memory should be pretty tough on a win2000/XP machine as they are supposed to be protected memory environments (clicky). however, one of the fields of the structs in there is a heap ID so perhaps you could get in that way. dunno, this is fairly far above my head ATM. my feeling however, is that the design of the windows system is such that this shouldn't be possible so you'd probably have to exploit some bug in the windows code to get what you want. and that's bad. DON'T DO IT!

-me

p.s. that java function you found creates new processes, it does not create a handle to existing processes.

Guest Anonymous Poster