Sign in to follow this  
Solarcore

Im sure you've heard THIS one before.....

Hey all, Just introducing myself, And stumbled accross this site reading up on some programming lanquages... I've always been a creative sort, and always loved the thought of making something of my own from scratch....as a result, i have ended up becomming a trance producer..and im doing great and loving it.. I was really interested once into getting started into programming, but someone once told me "if u don't have a good knowledge of maths, don't bother" so this put me RIGHT off, I can pull out my hand from my pocket, count my change fine, I can do the simplish stuff...decimals, fractions etc.. but any more..forget it. Now is maths essential? What programming language is most efficient/adaptable for games? Which one would be best suited to myself (as i have no prior programming knowledge) as im really interested to get into games programming, and im sure my producing experience could be put to great use with it (making my own music for my own games...wicked) I know these things arn't overnight wonders...It took me 3 years of self teaching syntheisis/musical structure/theory/sequencing etc to learn what i know now about music...so im not one to give up easily...but aslong as i have fun on the way. Any help on getting me started would be much appreciated. Please dont say "learn darkbasic" i hear its pretty good, but if im going to learn something as dedicating as this, i would like to do it properly (just the way i am :) ) Again many thanks. Trance_Core ps, sorry for the looonnngg post...i tend to waffle alot :P

Yes, maths is very essential if you want to be a good programmer. Its pretty much the key to programming. Of course, you don't need to have a whole lot of math knowledge to make simple games, but the better ones do require a good bit of math. I suggest reading a book for game programming based math, but if you don't much math at all, it'd be better to get a pure math book.