Sign in to follow this  
psychoullis

What do you think about it?

Hello there. This is my first post here. I am also new in game programming and i look around to decide where to start from. Actually i have tried a thing or two using the wildtangent sdk. Reading the posts i get a feeling that everybody try to create an engine of a game and NOT an actual game. Am i wrong? I mean i really do understand that somebody likes to create its own engine but i think its about reinventing the wheel. I like programming as much as many of you guys do. But i am 100% i cannot create an engine powerful/efficient/correct by programming on my 1-2 hours daily spare time, as somebody who is doing this for a living. Shouldn't the community have a place about the ACTUAL game creation? This is my point of view. By all means, tell me what you thing about this. Thank you. P.S. Any suggested free SDK's ???

Quote:
shouldn't there be a place for game programming

there is a place like that it's called game programming forums.
you should scroll down a bit on the forums listings page

Quote:
ps.any suggested sdk's

well there is
directx
sdl
allegro

Quote:
Original post by psychoullis
Hello there. This is my first post here.
I am also new in game programming and i look around to decide where to start from.
Actually i have tried a thing or two using the wildtangent sdk.

Reading the posts i get a feeling that everybody try to create an engine of a game and NOT an actual game. Am i wrong? I mean i really do understand that somebody likes to create its own engine but i think its about reinventing the wheel. I like programming as much as many of you guys do. But i am 100% i cannot create an engine powerful/efficient/correct by programming on my 1-2 hours daily spare time, as somebody who is doing this for a living.

Creating a game actually rather implies creating an "engine" for "that type of game". It's just a matter of how specific you are with that word "type".