Sign in to follow this  
MLane

Syntax error, problem with directx sdk & visual studio

I don't seem to be understanding some problems here. I'm new to C++ and it's way of including libraries and such, and I'm having a problem I would love to get support for. I can't find help anywhere on microsoft, or anywhere else. I found this site, and must say it's a wounderful resource. Now, onto the topic. I've gone to project -> settings -> links and added in dxguid.lib and ddraw.lib, and made my #include for <ddraw.h>. Even when I take an example source and try to run it, I keep getting this same error. I have the DirectX SDK installed, the one from October 2004 I believe. I keep getting an error on LPDIRECTDRAW7 lpDD = NULL; saying LPDIRECTDRAW7 is an invalid reference, and it doesnt seem to be including any directx variable types, or anything. I'm not sure what the problem is, exactly. Sorry I couldn't be more specific, but if this isn't an easy-fix and someone doesn't come along real quick and knock the stupidity out of my head, I'll go more indepth and post more specific details about this. Thanks! [Edited by - MLane on November 14, 2004 8:46:15 PM]

i think the problem is you haven't pointed your project toward the location of the headers and libraries, As well as saying what header you want to include and what libraries to link to you have to say where they are. Go into project settings then:

1) in C/C++ folder, in General, there is an entry "Additional Include Directories". Add the include folder of your directx sdk install there.

2) Under the Linker folder in General, there is an entry "Addition Library Directories". Add the lib folder of your directx sdk install there.

Hopefully this should sort all your problems out.

I can't seem to find any of the tabs you're talking about. Are you using visual studio 6, or .NET? I'm using 6.