Sign in to follow this  

MMORPG Database Suggestions...

This topic is 4774 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

If anyone has any suggestions on a database I could use for a mmorpg style game it would be a great help... If possible I would like to use DAO without MFC, but if there are other options availible they could work too (completely free of course) I do not plan to have an open source game for security through obscurity reasons. Thanks in advance.

DAO why, is there any reason for choosing DAO? What about ADO or direct ODBC calls, if you want some code examples i'll post some up, i'm a business software developer (payroll & hr) by day so use mySQL, SQL Server and ORACLE db's on a regular basis.

I've just used it before when programming an small scale mmorpg in visual basic... but sure code examples would be appreciated. :) The main thing i'm worried about is data access time, some data remains in memory while other data is loaded and stored back into the database (i.e. player logs on and the player data structure is loaded; the player logs off and the player data structure is stored)

I'm not so sure of the necessity of a relational DB for a MMORPG ... could someone explain to me why it is needed?

And I am not talking about persistant data storage in general, but it seems like alot of hassle for a non-transaction based system. I mean, a MMORPG is pretty much a large physics simulation, not some goofy merchant website.

I'd suggest Microsoft SQL Server. Oracle works too, but unless you have millions of dollars, then you're gonna want SQL server. I don't know anything about mysql except that it doesn't support stored procedures; you're gonna want those.

Quote:
Original post by The Reindeer Effect
I'm not so sure of the necessity of a relational DB for a MMORPG ... could someone explain to me why it is needed?