Sign in to follow this  
Sheeva_

Should Programmers Use API References at Everyday Work?

Sheeva_    122
I suppose that API References are a useful thing to keep by your hand when writing programs (like, an OpenGL BlueBook would help when coding an engine), and one of my friends, not a programmer, stated that if I'm using references then I'm not a programmer at all 'cause I don't remember the function calls and enums and etc etc etc. What is your opinion?

Ainokea    435
Real programmers arent computers, they program computers. In other words, you dont have to remember every function and constant!!! Of course you should use refrences.

Beer Hunter    712
I suspect that your friend is joking. The ability to memorise entire libraries is not what makes one a programmer. My coworkers and I refer to references quite often.

ontheheap    798
Quote:
Original post by Sheeva_
I suppose that API References are a useful thing to keep by your hand when writing programs (like, an OpenGL BlueBook would help when coding an engine), and one of my friends, not a programmer, stated that if I'm using references then I'm not a programmer at all 'cause I don't remember the function calls and enums and etc etc etc.
What is your opinion?

I couldn't imagine anyone memorizing every little bit of information about an API. You remember the stuff you use most often and then look-up the rest. Your friend is wrong.

Sheeva_    122
Thanx guys.
I'll show this post to convince him. :)
As I told before, he's not a coder but a gfx designer and says that he doesn't need any references to Photoshop and 3D max :)

Promit    13246
Quote:
Original post by Sheeva_
As I told before, he's not a coder but a gfx designer and says that he doesn't need any references to Photoshop and 3D max :)

Tell him to model in just MaxScript, without using a reference [lol]

aaroncox1234    298