Sign in to follow this  
Metus

STL why's and why not's in game programming

Hello. I'm pretty new in the "professional" game developer scene and found out that old demo-programmers seems to avoid STL and all the sweet libs that boost presents. The only reason they're writing their own string-, vector and mathclasses is that "stl is generating to big of a overhead" and "i want total control of my application" I found that really irritating: no matter how good your string-class is, it wont be as heavily tested as std::string and your matlib will probably never be as fast and optimized as D3DX******** So... are you an old demo-programmer or a cool dude? I'm using stl and boost whereever I can - AND if it is approperiate

Quote:
Original post by Metus
The only reason they're writing their own string-, vector and mathclasses is that "stl is generating to big of a overhead" and "i want total control of my application"

I would say the real reason is lack of knowledge & old compilers give you misconceptions [wink]

Quote:
Original post by Metus
So... are you an old demo-programmer or a cool dude?

Nothing about being cool, just not being ignorant & arrogant [grin] and wasting your's and compiler implementor's time & money.

Maybe 5-10 years ago or so when computers were slow enough to warrent such control/optimizations, then ya, STL would seem like a huge overhead. Today however, there is no reason to go recreate a String class or a dynamic array (vector) and especially Sets, Maps and Hashmaps (red-black trees....*shudder*).

We are in the programming age of using highly optimized libraries created so we can spend more time on our application itself. The tools are there, the overhead is negligable, use them.