Sign in to follow this  
cozzie

Vertex normals. Thread solved!

cozzie    5029
Hi. At the moment I use glEnableClientState for using normals in my vertex arrays, which means I'm using normals per vertex. I calculate them this way: vtxnormal.x = 0; vtxnormal.y = 0; vtxnormal.z = 0; then I calculate the facenormal and add it to the vtx normals: vtxnormal.x += facenormal.x; vtxnormal.y += facenormal.y; vtxnormal.z += facenormal.z; Now I'm wondering if this is the best way, so that my lighting turns out good. What would you advise, keep on going like this? Or should I use just facenormals, if so, how should I do that? Thanks. I studied the most vector theory today, I'm glad this is all clear to me know. It's sometimes good to stop adding feautures to your 3d engine and take a look at what you did till now, with this I mean a really good look (math etc.) [Edited by - cozzie on November 27, 2004 11:29:36 AM]

Raduprv    997
To calculate the vetex normals, just find out all the faces that vertex belongs to, add all the X, Y and Z values of each face, then divide by he number of faces. In some cases vertex normals look better, but in other cases face normals look better.
For example, if you have a box, and the top plane is divided in many faces, then by using vertex normals the top plane will have different lighting, rather than uniform lighting. So the vertex normals work best for 'natural' objects such as stones, trees, etc. but suck for man made objects, such as houses, tables, etc.

OpenGLAaron    122
Quote:
Original post by Raduprv
To calculate the vetex normals, just find out all the faces that vertex belongs to, add all the X, Y and Z values of each face, then divide by he number of faces.

If you just normalize at the end, you don't have to keep track of the number of faces. On the other hand, normalizing deals with a slow square root function that you might like to avoid.

Raduprv    997
Quote:
Original post by OpenGLAaron