• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Figherstarter

Need help with a game timer?

This topic is 4955 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Writing small game in C I am not sure how to go about getting the game to run without the user pressing a key. Basically its like that old car game on the TI calculators, where you can't hit the sides or you crash. I am stuck at how to get the game to move without me pressing a key. I am using WASD, and well when I press a key the player moves and the background scrolls but, I have no idea how to make the background scroll alone without me pressing a key. I am a pretty decent programmer, but never touched this topic in class, my classes are based on applications...not games :( Anyway, any help with what kind of header file to include and how to use a proper fuction would help. I was thinking of using time.h and some functions in there but I can't find any good examples... Thanks so much in advance. Working on this lil game feels extrememly good and I can't wait to get this part going :)

Advertisement
I had some troubles with timers, couldnt find an example so I made something really simple. Accualy, I am a n00b heheh..

It should be obvious what it does, for me its my global timer (which starts at 300 secs and goes to 0 ;>) and a combo timer which keeps track of the endurance of 2 seconds. Check the comments.

class Timer
{
//Function: Creates a Timer object where time can be measure from

public:

Timer();
//Default constructor

void Start();
//Function: Take a copy of the current time

bool Check(int Seconds);
//int Seconds = number of Seconds to compare Start-time with
//Return value: bool = are the Seconds more then the timedifference between now and Start? (False)
//Function: Check a given time for time between starttime end checktime

int Update();