Sign in to follow this  
dimensionX

Mobile Graphics

Hi, I am new to mobile/embedded graphics/games. I had worked on OpenGL for 5 years. I want to enter in the mobile graphics industry. I see two ways OpenGLES and J2ME. OpenGLES implementations are available by Vincent, Hybrid Graphcis, Qualcomm, Nokia. Does anybody know which one is heavly used or better than the others ? I see a lot of oppurtunities on J2ME + BREW but very few for OpenGLES. Also please suggest some reference (books, urls, etc...) for learning. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks!

3D technology looks pretty immature on cell phones at the moment (at least on the phones you can dream of getting your hands on in North America), so if you go that route then you are not likely to find much good documentation, and you are taking a bet that the technology will improve enough to run your game at a decent framerate by the time you are done coding.