• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
xyuri

Not including windows.h ??

This topic is 5136 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am using the windows QueryPerformanceCount() function (something like that, cant remember exact name) to maintain movement and momentum of things in my app .... anyways, the point is, it adds like ~600KB to my app! thats huuuuuuuuuge im my opinion :-D As I can remember, VB has a way of making a call to these kind of functions without importing all the stuff? (I'm an extreme newb) Is there a way of me utalising this function without bloating my app by including windows.h ? (again, I think it was windows.h)

Advertisement
this may be a silly (albeit obvious) question: is it a debug or release build? debug builds usually incur a HUGE amount of file size increment especially when u include windows.h. Try the release build if u havent already.

but... if u're already using release.. er.. ignore this :P

I'm using Dev-C++ and I dont think there is a debug build. Or there might be, but if there is I havent intentionally used it, ever :-)

QueryPerformanceCounter is defined in winbase.h, so you could just include that. Of course, to get it to compile, you would also have to include stdarg.h and windef.h (in that order I think). This would drop your size by quite a bit, because you would not be including the majority of windows.h.

To do it without including anything, you would have to construct the call itself. it would look like:
 BOOL __stdcall QueryPerformanceCounter(PLARGE_INTEGER);

Of course...that would mean you would have to copy the typedef _LARGE_INTEGER from winnt.h ... which would require the definition of DWORD and LONG ... etc. This could be done with not too much more trouble, but would be considerably easier to just include the three files listed above.