• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
sirival

Any Sense in this?

This topic is 5042 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

So it's 4 a.m. here in Greece. As usual I wander aimlessly on the Internet, reading articles about game programming, how to "break into the industry" of game development etc. I can program fairly good in C++. I have made one or two kinda simple games in OpenGL, I studied a little bit of Direct3d, a little bit of Collision Detection, a little bit of Physics and so on. I'm curently in a University studing computer science for three years now. Since my fellow classmates usually come to ask me about programming issues on various projects, I'm guessing that I am amongst the "skilled" in my class. So why am I writing this? My dream is to create games that people will play. I love coding. But I live in Greece. If I don't want to take big risks regarding my "future", I should go somewhere abroad for a MSc's degree in something like software engineering. In order to take a job as a game programmer in a software house I should probably have some experience working elsewhere for some years. Also I must obviously leave my country and live somewhere else like the States or the UK... In addition game development companies hire people that are usually MONSTERS OF CODE. People that have been programming since 10 years old. When I was 10 years old here in Greece all I learnt about computers in school was that they are in a grey case. Nobody told me anything about programming. Internet? Don't make me laugh! All I had when I was like 13 was a book about qbasic. A bad book! Is it just me or am I most likely doomed to fail make my dream come true?

Advertisement