• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
unfinished

Platform Games

This topic is 4956 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am look for some advice aboout the best way of creating the screen using OpenGL. I have written a quick program just to test how well it works, I am generating 20*15 quads and applying textures to them. I want to then add another layer infront, for things like platforms, I hope this will make collision easier? Am I just doing this the hard way. Can someone suggest a source for graphics/textures for games as I am no artist.
int LevelBoxDraw()
{
	int	n=0;

glTranslatef(-42.0f,-28.0f,-74.0f);					// Move Left 
	glColor3f(1.0f,1.0f,1.0f);							// Set The Color To Blue One Time Only
	glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texture[0]);			// Select Our Texture

for (float y = 0; y <= 14; y++)				//   Add one to take into account the loop
	{
		for (float x = 0; x <= 19; x++)
		{
//			glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texture[0]);			// Select Our Texture
			glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, texture[LevelData[n++]-48]);			// Select Our Texture
			glTranslatef(4.0f,0.0f,0.0f);						// Move Right 3 Units
			glBegin(GL_QUADS);									// Draw A Quad
			glTexCoord2f(0.0f, 0.0f); glVertex3f(-2.0f, -2.0f,  1.0f);	// Bottom Left Of The Texture and Quad
			glTexCoord2f(1.0f, 0.0f); glVertex3f( 2.0f, -2.0f,  1.0f);	// Bottom Right Of The Texture and Quad
			glTexCoord2f(1.0f, 1.0f); glVertex3f( 2.0f,  2.0f,  1.0f);	// Top Right Of The Texture and Quad
			glTexCoord2f(0.0f, 1.0f); glVertex3f(-2.0f,  2.0f,  1.0f);	// Top Left Of The Texture and Quad
			glEnd();											// Done Drawing The Quad
		}
		glTranslatef(-x*4,4.0,0.0f);						// Move Right 3 Units
		glColor3f(1.0f,1.0f,1.0f);							// Set The Color
	}
	return	TRUE;
}