• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
edwardaux

Game Frameworks

This topic is 4957 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am thinking of writing a game that requires the user to select his team from a list of candidates. Each candidate has their own good/bad qualities and attributes. As a team, they embark on a quest (or objective) for which their success will depend on the suitability of the selected team. Although I am an experienced developer, I have never written a game before, so I am busily reading FAQs from this and many other sites. What (if any) frameworks are around that might support this style of game? At the moment, I haven't thought too much about the interface (yeah, yeah... I know I need to, but one thing at a time). At the moment, I am just trying to get some ideas about how I will support the underlying model. Any tips or pointers to frameworks/doco/tutorials would be much appreciated. Many thanks. -- Edwardaux

Advertisement
More information is necissary. Do you intend to program the game yourself, or are you looking for some kind of game-making software? If you are programming the game, do you have a language picked-out? Is this going to be a 3-D game?

I intend to write the game myself, but thought that it would be best to build on an existing framework (if one exists.) My game itself would be reasonably simple, so I am happy to evaluate a game-making tool. Having said that, the main reason I am doing it is to learn what is involved, so I would think that writing code would be a better way for me to do that (I personally learn better that way.)

I don't really mind what language the framework is based on... I would prefer something Object Oriented, but it isn't an absolute requirement. I currently have good skills in Java, C, C++, Smalltalk and a handful of others.