• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Joshnathan

SDL

This topic is 5129 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all, I started learning SDL from cone3d.gamedev.com, but I encountered a little problem. First of all the printf() function is always used(which I thought was a c function), but that is ok cause it is not THAT hard to get. But then in tutorial nb 3 where you start learning about sprites I get this sort of stuff: printf("ERROR opening file %s\n\n", filename); and fgets(buffer, 255, fp); sscanf(buffer, "FILES: %d", &mNumframes); sscanf(buffer, "%s %d %d %d %d", name, &pause, &r, &g, &b); :( I never enctountered anything of this style during the gametutorials.com c++ tutorials. Anyone can help me out here? If I am correct these principals are basic c, but I never learned c cause I went c++ straight. It should be possible to do the same things with other commands in c++ I guess, but I just can't really figure out whaqt EXACTLY happens.

Advertisement
SDL is a liberary for C/C++
So printf (and it's variants) can be used with it.
And if you learn C++ you also learn C, you just have more options.
Any C command can be used in C++.

Let's go over the commands shall we?

===
printf("ERROR opening file %s\n\n", filename);

Let's say filename is a null terminated char array containing "A File.txt"

Then the output shall be:
"ERROR opening file A File.txt

"

===
fgets(buffer, 255, fp);
buffer is a char array, mostlikly with 255 items.
fp is a file pointer.
fgets reads 255 characters from the file pointed to by fp and puts it into buffer.

===
sscanf(buffer, "FILES: %d", &mNumframes);

sscanf scans the char array (buffer) for a particular patern.
In this case it looks if it finds the word: "FILES: " and what is put behind is read till \0 or \n, converted to a double and placed into "mNumframes"

Also valid would be this: