• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
danromeo

display modes...adapter enumeration...Ok, I'm lost

This topic is 5044 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Thanks for reading this. umm...I'm completely dazed and confused after having gone over MS's documentation regarding display adapter enumeration. First the problem, followed by a few questions. Take it easy on me...I'm not a newbie but I am a hobbiest and I'm always looking for the quickest, easiest way to get things accomplished that will require the least amount of understanding on my behalf. The Problem: I've been working on this (windowed) app for quite awhile now. At first I had it set to just use whatever display mode the adapter was already set to, and it looked great. Then I moved from DX8 to DX9, and at the same time decided to structure my program more like the MS examples so that I could plug example code into my app more easily. In doing so, I plugged in the adapter enumeration code used in the MS examples...and now my app looks like CRAP. Very jagged edges. device->GetDisplayMode returns 1024x768, which should look fine...WHY DOES MY APP LOOK LIKE CRAP? Questions: 1. Isn't there some standard code for finding an optimal display mode and setting it correctly? Isnt' this something EVERY app has to do? I really don't want to force myself into understanding MS's documentation and have to do all of this myself. 2. MS's docs say that you can only set the display mode on a full screen app. Does this mean that the app would use the current display mode? 3. I thought DX9 was supposed to provide better support for adapter enumeration. Where is it? Bottom line, I really just want to get rid of these jagged edges. Any help would be appreciated, as always. Thanks a lot.

Advertisement