• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
dragon22483

Dynamic Map

This topic is 4952 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm kinda new to programming so bear with me. I'm trying to write a tile-based map for an rpg but I want the maps to be dynamic, vary in size and layer. I read a tutorial that said I should write it something like this struct tileStruct { char id; // tile id bool open; }; //walkable or nor tileStruct ***map; Could someone please help me figure out what to do with that or if there is a better way please tell me. I'm not the greatest with pointers. This is what my code looks like: I'm not even really sure what it does. Well, kinda but not enough to know how to fix it. Pleas help. :) void rpgmap::loadMap( std::string filename ) { ifstream infile;// file input infile.open( filename.c_str() );// open the file for reading infile >> myRows >> myCols >> myLayers; infile.ignore(1,' '); myMap = malloc(sizeof(tileStruct**) * myLayers); for(int layer = 0; layer < myLayers; layer++) { myMap[layer] = malloc(sizeof(tileStruct*) * myCols); for(int col = 0; col < myCols; col++) myMap[layer][col] = malloc(sizeof(tileStruct) * myRows); } // // load the tiles from the file // infile.close();// close the file so another one can be opened }

Advertisement
You can use a ** but in this particular case it probably isn't worth it - I think it is faster and easier to do it like this (sorry, I've made up the variable names instead of using yours) (sorry again - edited to use plain C):

mapsquare *data;
int width;
int height;

void SetSize(int w, int h)
{
width = w;
height = h;
if(data)
free(data);
data = (mapsquare *)malloc(sizeof(mapsquare) * w * h);
}

mapsquare * GetSquareAt(int x, int y)
{
assert(x < width && y < height);
return (data + (y * width) + x);
}

Quote:
Original post by dragon22483