Sign in to follow this  

help with struct and i/o please

This topic is 4755 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

how can i read from a file written in binary to a struct? here is my program - it's homework so i realize the program is pretty pointless. i am having problems writing the info on the file into the struct temprec - it only reads into temprec[0].name and temprec[0].amnt but all data after that is garbage binary - the whole program is bellow. i'm a newbie so please bear with me.

struct record
{
	char name[15];
	float amnt;
};

struct temp
{
	char name[15];
	float amnt;
};

void main()
{
	ofstream fout;

fout.open("master.dat", ios::binary);

record master [10] = {"Helen", 10, "Julie", 20, "Lena", 30, 
		"Alan", 40, "Annie", 50, "May", 60, "Lee", 70, "Sam", 80, "June", 90, 
"Bill", 100};

fout.write((char*)&master, sizeof(record));
	fout.close();

fout.open("trans.dat", ios::binary);

struct record trans [7] = {"Lena", 10, "Julie", 5.75, "Lee", 15.02,
		"Ed", 40, "Art", 5.00, "Bill", 7.32};

fout.write((char*)&trans, sizeof(record));
	fout.close();

temp temprec[10];
	ifstream fin;
	fin.open("master.dat", ios::binary);

fin.read((char*)&temprec, sizeof(temp));
	while(fin)
	{

cout << temprec[0].name << "   " << temprec[0].amnt << endl;

}

fin.close();

fin.open("trans.dat", ios::binary);

while(fin)
	{

cout << temprec[1].name << "   " << temprec[1].amnt << endl;

}

fin.close();

}

[Edited by - angelxe1 on December 7, 2004 7:53:46 AM]

Since this is homework I won't solve it for you, but I will give you a pointer to where you're going wrong. Take a long hard look at this line:

Enigma

lol
believe me when i say that i have looked at that one line for about two days but i still can't figure out what is wrong i want to write to the file master.dat and then open it and read the data into temprec -