Sign in to follow this  
rpulley123

WAV and OGG

Ok, I have some nice background music that I created, the only problem is that the wav file is too big (5 megs). So, I decided to convert it to an OGG (stereo, 128 bit rate, VBR). The only problem that I have now is that everytime it looks, I hear a click, its not as smooth as it used to be. I am using the SDL_mixer for playback. Does anyone have any insight into this? Am I just doomed to have bad looping when using compressed formats? Thanks, -- Rocky

Have you tried playing the OGG file through WinAMP or some other player? I've heard stories of sound quality problems with OGG and SDL_Mixer. If it still makes the "clicking" noise, then I would reencode the OGG file. What are you using to encode to OGG?

Quote:
Original post by paradoxnj
Have you tried playing the OGG file through WinAMP or some other player? I've heard stories of sound quality problems with OGG and SDL_Mixer. If it still makes the "clicking" noise, then I would reencode the OGG file. What are you using to encode to OGG?

I'm using GoldWave, when I loop it inside of GoldWave, it sounds perfect as well. Is there any kind of tweaking I can do for SDL_Mixer to make it work better with OGG files?

I use SDL_mixer with OGG files - No clicking whatsoever. I use goldwave too. The .ogg files were converted from .mp3, so that may be it, since .mp3 is already compressed.

I saving my .ogg files as 44100Hz, 128kbps, (0.4g), stereo

Quote:
Original post by rpulley123
Ok, I have some nice background music that I created, the only problem is that the wav file is too big (5 megs). So, I decided to convert it to an OGG (stereo, 128 bit rate, VBR). The only problem that I have now is that everytime it looks, I hear a click, its not as smooth as it used to be.

I am using the SDL_mixer for playback. Does anyone have any insight into this? Am I just doomed to have bad looping when using compressed formats?

Thanks,
-- Rocky