Sign in to follow this  

Help Transformations.

This topic is 4760 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Im just getting started and im kinda lost about transformations. Well more than a little lost. So i made a little program that draws some 3d shapes and then lets you move the camera around the world. however im not 100% sure i understand what is going on First i want to know if a matrix pushed into the stack is multpied into all other matrices on top of it. Second im kind of lost about thinking about drawing the world around the camera and not the camera in the world thing.

glPushMatrix does not change the current matrix, it simply saves it onto the stack. glPopMatrix however will, as it loads the matrix that is on top of the stack. So...

glLoadMatrix(A);

glPushMatrix(); -> matrix stack is now A

glLoadMatrix(B);

glPushMatrix(); -> matrix stack is now A,B

glLoadMatrix(C);

glPopMatrix(); -> takes 'B' off stack, matrix is now 'B', stack is now A

// glLoadMatrix(B); would have no effect here, matrix is already B

glPopMatrix(); -> takes 'A' off stack, matrix is A, stack is empty.

so matrix is now A..

so,

glPopMatrix() would cause an error here, since the stack is empty.

OK. camera.

You need to know matrix maths, especially a 4x4 geometry transformation matrix... Which treats all vertex positions as x,y,z,1... The 1 is special, and allows translation as well as rotation... But moving on...

When you setup your scene, first thing you do, naturally, is set the camera, push the matrix to save it, set your lights, etc. Then go through each object, mult'matrixing, or glRotate, etc, pushing and popping the matrix before each object and after each object.

Setting the camera is the tricky part.

The way to understand what the camera matrix should be can be demonstrated by a simple example: