Sign in to follow this  
Daivuk

OpenGL THE question : opengl or glut

Ok, I'm making ogl since a time, creating my ogl window, stuff, bla bla bla, directInput or WinAPI for inputs, etc. But does glut is better? I know its portable, but witch is faster? I dont think john carmack used glut for is QuakeIII engine based on opengl. lol But what about glut? Is it just for Education Purpose? Thanks

well...i am a noob also...but i tried GLFW, GLUT, WGL...

i choosed GLUT...the frame per second count is the same in all when rendering nothing...

my 2 cents...

For speed and flexibility, use the Win32 API and OpenGL. You won't get very far past basic demos with GLUT. It is only for educational use.

Would SDL be suitable for a commercial game, or would it always be preferable to use the API of the target OS?

Quote:
Original post by iNsAn1tY
For speed and flexibility, use the Win32 API and OpenGL. You won't get very far past basic demos with GLUT. It is only for educational use.

Would SDL be suitable for a commercial game, or would it always be preferable to use the API of the target OS?

Sdl is fine. I know for the linux ports of alot of games they use sdl.

Guest Anonymous Poster
Quote:
Original post by ManaStone
Quote:
Original post by ImperfectFreak
Use SDL!!!

SDL doesn't even allow you to position the window.

But your making a game. Games are usually fullscreen and if your not playing in full screen then it shouldnt matter because you can move your window. If you are making another type of app then yes you should use something else.

______________________________________________________________________________________
With the flesh of a cow.