Sign in to follow this  

Run of the mill beginner here.

This topic is 4751 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello all. It's taken me three years to realize that instead of thinking about getting into programming, I should just friggin do it. =) Alright, I've started C++ on Sunday, and I've been having a blast learning so far. I'm still in the very early stages as far as I know. I'm able to understand how everything works so far instead of just copying the code from tutorials and saying I've learned it. I'm up to Structures on: http://www.gametutorials.com/Tutorials/c++/Cpp_Pg2.htm And, since the Functions tutorial, I made a menu that has everything I learned. Like 5) will generate a random number. Amazing, aren't I? Heh. Anyway, I know those tutorials won't be much help after I'm done with them. I don't want to be left dry and alone... I think it's about time to get some books. Beginning C++ Game Programming - Michael Dawson Practical C++ Programming, Second Edition Jamsa's C/C++/C# Programmer's Bible The C++ Programming Language (Special 3rd Edition) The C++ Standard Library : A Tutorial and Reference Those are what I have in my amazon cart. I don't think I will get all of them. So are there any on that list that are too alike to get the both of them? Any other books that are better?

For me, the 2 key texts for C++ (in order of importance) are:

The C++ programming language, written by the man who made C++
The C++ Standard Library

Neither are particularly beginners books though. There are plenty of books that different folks like to get their feet wet, but the one I settled on (after looking at 3 or 4) was:
C++: The complete reference