Sign in to follow this  
tombifkin

OOP help

Hi, I'm kind of new to Gamedev. I've been browsing for more than a year now but have never really asked/replied to anything(I'm one of those quiet, shy guys), so here goes my first attempt. I've been programming in C++ for a little over a year and a half now and I think that I have grasped the basic syntax of it. My problem is that I don't feel like I have quite the grasp of OOP, if any at all. When I go to write a program, I can see how it could be done, the problem is just implementing it. It's like a puzzle: I can see how the pieces are, but I can't put them together. It seems like the only way to make my code work would be to create numerous global variables and work them into m code. The problem with that is it will create spaghetti code quickly, which I don't want. When I see other people's code I can see how the different classes work together and form a whole, it is just when I try it doesn't come together so nicely. Can you see my problem? So what I'm asking is for some pointers on get through this road block. Are there any good books out there that talk about OOP? Any personal experieces with this? Any links to places that talk about OOP? Thanks for any help! Tom

I would be willing to answer any questions you have on OOP.

tom@buyersfund.com

also:

whatnewdevilryisthis@hotmail.com on Messenger (nick is BalRog).

==========

I am in the middle of developing a Windows 2D board game in C# (very close in syntax to C++) and I have some experience in OOP. The fellow who is helping me write the game knows even more than I do...so we've got you covered.

Something that may interest you is UML.

It's a description language that helps you structure your programs and various aspects of larg projects.

Most modern UML IDE will produce simple class code for you so all u have to do is drag and drop.

I'm pretty new to this stuff so can't really point u too any resources, but search google.

ace