Sign in to follow this  
rpulley123

3D

Hi, I've been playing around with game development for a few years now, I've always been into 2D tile based games. I want to get more into 3D game programming more now. I've played around with it a bit, but so far I've only created a little configurable 3D map game with no real content other than displaying and moving through the maps. The thing that's really holding me back is a lack of knowing which tools to use for modeling, and how to load the models from whichever tool. I played around with the learning edition of Maya and with the Milkshape 3d program, but I'm not sure what format would be best and how I would load the models. I know how to load the .x files since DX has support for them, but I can't seem to find a tool that really exports to the .x format very well, everything I've seen so far either doesn't support that format or has problems when exporting to it. I've bought a few books on 3D programming but none of them answer these specific questions, they mostly spend 50% of the book teaching you what C++ is, 30% teaching you what DX is, then the other 30% teaching you how to rotate a triangle on the screen. Can anyone point me in a good direction here? Thanks! -- Rocky

i had the same problem also. i could make 3d pong, i could make a basic 3d level from cubes etc. but i couldnt get models to load. it was just to huge to conquer all at once so i just started using a pre-made 3d engine. from this i can get in depth with actually up-to-date games as i would be working in 3d and not have to worry about loading specific types of file formats or real indepth matrix calculations and the such. although i'm using a pre-made 3d engine i'm not going to abbandon the knowledge that it takes to create a 3d engine. i always think it is usefull to know what is happening behind the scenes, so every now and then, slowly but surely i try and learn the components / systems that goes into a 3d engine.