Sign in to follow this  
choboNo1

Help!!!! Linked list problems

I have a linked list(ItemList class) called "list" and another copy of it named "dupeList". When i do: list.getNext(); a boolean variable in my ItemList class called "getNextCalled" will turn to 'true'. Now... here is the problem: when i do list.getNext(), the boolean variable "getNextCalled" in "dupeList" also changes to 'true'. why??? Arent they different objects?? please help. im using java by the way

well i could think of a couple of things ..

#1) your boolean variable is a static variable ... don't think it is though.

#2) the copy you made called "dupeList" is not a deep copy of the linked list it's a actual copy of the pointer. Basically both variables are referencing the same Linked List in memory. Create a new linked list and change the memory address the "dupeList" is pointing to.

Post some code too .. that way people can help more.

Guest Anonymous Poster
I'm an expert with this stuff, but one of the most common ways to do it is to override the method clone(). It's one of the methods in the Object class that every other class is inherited from. In this method you create a "deep copy", which is done by either clone() -ing all the objects in it, and / or by copying the values of the primitives. For my linked lists, I "deep copy" everything but the objects the the list is pointing to. Those I just do a regular assignment (this.pointedTo = copyFrom.pointedTo). That's what I understand, anybody please correct me if I'm wrong.

- Freaker

Guest Anonymous Poster
Oh, I'm sorry! I completely forgot. In Object, clone() is declared as protected. You can override it to be public, and I haven't actually tried but I think you can make it package private or private.

- Freaker

You could make a copy constructor:

ItemList::ItemList(const ItemList& copy)
{
m_field1 = copy.m_field1;
m_field2 = copy.m_field2;
// and so on
}

Then when you want a deep copy just do: