Sign in to follow this  

Large projects : one object per h / cpp file?

This topic is 4752 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi - just looking for some advice from those with experience with large projects. When I started learning C++ I tended to use a single .h / .cpp file-pair per object. However, as my programs start to get much larger this obviously increases the number of files I end up with. I started playing with having abstract interfaces and concrete class in the same file (so Entity, with EntityPlayer, EntityEnemy, whatever) but this just creates huge individual files which are hard to locate things in. I am also in the process of writing a cake-designing program for my wife to help with her business, that contains a lot of winproc functions. I've currently grouped them under file / edit etc categories (ie one file per top-level menu category), and have a hit a similar problem as the total program size increases. So - my question is : how do you tend to organise your large, multi-object files? What are the pros and cons of doing it in different ways? How about things like general purpose functions, functors etc? Thanks in advance for any help, Jim.

I use 1 object per header/cpp, with the file basically sharing the name as the class.

class Renderer would be in Renderer.h and Renderer.cpp, and within visual studio to reduce clutter I group files under folders that describe their subsystem.

One linkable class per .h/.cpp/.test.cpp is an acceptable heuristic.

Design to make them count since it will be annoying to write makefiles with hundreds of files. Just like it will be annoying to write comprehensive tests for classes that do too much.