• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Pipo DeClown

OpenGL 512x512 of dynamic data

This topic is 4963 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm making a OpenGL heightmap editor. I'm trying to render 512x512 indexed triangles. I'm using this render function:
GLvoid cHeightMap::Render()
{
    glEnableClientState(GL_COLOR_ARRAY);
    glColorPointer(4, GL_FLOAT, 0, Colors);
    glEnableClientState(GL_VERTEX_ARRAY);
    glVertexPointer(3, GL_FLOAT, 0, Verts);

glDrawElements(GL_TRIANGLES, (mapRows-1)*(mapCols-1)*6, GL_UNSIGNED_INT, Indices);

glDisableClientState(GL_COLOR_ARRAY);
    glDisableClientState(GL_VERTEX_ARRAY);
}

It runs like crap right now. Is it that I need to do multiple counts according to the vertex cache, or is it because I use 4-byte indices (511x511x6 of them)? I'm kind of new in OpenGL, don't know the right functions yet. Thanks! EDIT: 522.242 primitives.. [Edited by - Pipo DeClown on December 15, 2004 9:45:32 AM]

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by Pipo DeClown
EDIT: 522.242 primitives..

Yeah, that's your problem. You need to reduce the number of polys you are rendering. You'll need to do 2 things:
1) Slice the terrain into blocks. Don't render blocks which aren't visible.
2) Perform some sort of LoD calculation on the scape to reduce the number of rendered polygons.

Using an indexed triangle strip should give you a fairly significant increase in performance.

You could also try the ARB_vertex_buffer_object extension to upload the data into video memory. You'll lose some of the benefit of VBO because your data is dynamic, but if you only update the VBO every few frames you should get a decent increase in frame rate.