Sign in to follow this  

RTS with OpenGL

This topic is 4746 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Greetings Do you think that an RTS would be a good kind of game to do whilst learning OpenGL? I've always wanted to make an RTS, but I'm not sure if that would be too much to do while learning OpenGL. Thanks.

Something like tic-tac-toe, pacman, or snake may be more within your initial realm of doing. but if you really design well and put your mind to it, its possible.

good luck!

-visage

I've done Tic Tac Toe, pacman already. Tried tetris but for some reason it dissapeared off my harddrive... I'm not very good with 3D stuff though, so it might end up being 2D unless I can figure 3D out.

It depends on what other programming background you have. If OpenGL is your first experience with graphics, then I'd suggest you build from simpler games.

Personally, I started with a simple point and click game like whack-a-mole, then Tetris, then my feeble attempt at an RTS (hadn't had any data structures courses or knowledge). But that was all in Java, and OpenGL is a lot more interesting to me. The best advice I can give is to start simple and build on what you know. Maybe dissect what a simple RTS needs and learn the concepts you need, making sample programs to explore them as you learn. It will take a really long time, but I'm sure it will be worth it. There's nothing like having friends request the latest version of your game.

I also plan on doing an RTS, so let me know how yours works out.
psilocybin665@yahoo.com