Sign in to follow this  

Questions about sound effects

This topic is 4743 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've recently got into sound effects, but so far I don't really know anything. I never really done anything like this before and was wondering if you guys could help out with a few questions I have. Should I be saving sound effects in mono or stereo? What are Doppler effect encoded waves? What are Distance variant encoded waves? I assume these should be easy to answer as it's probably really basic stuff, I'm just new to this. Any help is appreciated

Hey,

Mono/Stereo - I don't think that this is a trivial issue...

* Source material should be kept in the format it was recorded in, totally unprocessed.

* Cutscenes/linear sequences should be stereo unless you're dealing with a streaming source and have limited bandwidth.

* The implementation of an in-game sound will determine its format:

* An ambience might be a looping stereo file. It might be mixed in real time from numerous mono samples to create a stereo or 3D image. It might be a looping stereo file with spot mono sounds thrown in to make it less repetitive.

* A gun shot will tend to be mono and the sound engine will place the sound somewhere depending on the source of the sound relative to the player; I'm thinking of a 1st person shooter here.