Sign in to follow this  

arbfp1: too many ALU instructions

This topic is 4730 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

i'm rather new to fragment programming so i tried to start with it to put together a simple fragment program to do lighting. i support point lights at the moment to start with and have placed code that thus blinn like shading with all the stuff like specularity and such. now i've want to use at max 8 point lights (perhaps more, depending on how it works out). thus i placed a simple for-each loop in there and as the documentation stats this will be unrolled by the cg compiler. now i tested with 4 lights only and i already get 'too many ALU instructions'. so i wonder if this has it already been, if my venture into fragment programs already ended at this close point. how is it possible to deal with around 8 lights in a fragment program of arbfp1 type or is it just not possible at all?

You can try to put as much instructions as you can outside of the loop, if you haven't done this already. What I mean is, if some parameters can be precalculated and are the same for all 8 lights, do it before the loop. Also, try to limit the number of instructions. Normalizing a vector with math takes 3 instructions. If you do it with normalization cube maps, you'll just need one instruction. Same with attenuation maps. Generally, try to do as much computations as you can with texture lookups.

If even then you can't get it to run, you can always do multiple rendering passes.

i heard this now some times about using texture maps to lookup stuff. what exactly is the idea there? i mean more about how to lookup a normal for example. an attenuation map makes somehow sense but a normal map can be rather large.