Sign in to follow this  

Fog of war

This topic is 4730 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there! I'm planning to create some sort of strategy game (like C&C?). One thing I'm not sure about is the fog of war. What I'd like to have: Every unit has a line of sight (like in Commandos). A cone or triangle, which starts at the unit and spreads out in a certain direction until a maximum range is reached. (Bad explaination, I know. But you know what I mean?) ;-) My problem: What if there are hundreds of units? I can't calculate that stuff for EVERY one of them, can I? And how would I actually render that fog of war? I have some experience with OpenGL, but drawing a smooth arbitrary shape all over the screen? Hummm?!? Thanks for your help!

I would some kind of list stating what is currently hidden (or not) by fog of war. You could use this list every loop without having to update it. The only times you'd need to update it are when a unit or building is destroyed, created, or moved.

Quote:
Original post by Sartak
I would some kind of list stating what is currently hidden (or not) by fog of war. You could use this list every loop without having to update it. The only times you'd need to update it are when a unit or building is destroyed, created, or moved.

i duuno bout that, you dont want your game to start lagging when everyone decides to move all their units,so you should calculate it every loop, or if its too slow, you can just calculate say a quarter of all units, and then the next loop do the other ones that havent been calculated...or just calculate it for one unit per closely grouped units

and i think a los circle would be an idea, as your men may turn their heads...
and you dont get that annoying cant see behind the unit