Sign in to follow this  

a game that makes u hold ur breath

This topic is 4732 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

My name's Lin, a final year university student in Malaysia. I've just started a 4 month individual project on a simple game. I have NO experience in game programming. I was wondering if you could gimme some advice on which software I could use and how stuff works. Here's the deal: It's an underwater game, the character needs to dive below a certain water level to collect some treasures, come back up to the surface and pile it up there. The game must not be limited to keyboard and mouse as interaction, therefore I've come up with some different interaction. I want to bring the environment of the game to the user, meaning when the character is in the water, the player actually has to hold his breath. To do so, Im thinking of making the player wear a snorkel, embed a microphone somewhere inside to pick up any sound of air as the player breathes. If the player breathes when his under the water, the character slows down, chokes for a bit. There'll be a power bar, the life would decrease a bit. When reach the end the character dies. Also the second interaction ( we need minimum 2 interaction) involves a pedal. Im thinking of the game racing pedals ya know? So, the player pedals, to propel the character faster to get the treasures, to come up faster so they can breath again. So roughly that's how it goes. I've used Flash quite a bit, so I was wondering if u think this could be done in flash. Problem is my lecturers wishes it to be less flat, so I gota make it 3d looking somehow. But most importantly is to get that 2 interaction to work, i need to know how to integrate and configure it with the game. So drop me a line back if anyone could help out. I'd greatly appreciate it ;) Peace then.

Quote:
Original post by swanlin