Game loops, events etc confusion

Started by
2 comments, last by sand_man 19 years, 3 months ago
I'm unsure exactly how the game loo works in some cases, hopefully someone can help. I know the main game loop usually does the following things - While game_state = running 1)Get User Imput 2)Process input/game logic 3)Process AI 4)Ouput - render/update screen Repeat However, how does this work with event-driven things, like a specific event at any time happening? And what about multiple user input at the same time, for example moving and firing? Does the loop just see if there is any key being pressed at point (1) and if so act on it? At what point does event detection happen? I'm talking about using C++ specifically by the way, I'm just learning and have previously written application in VB.NET, which is very much event-driven and has no central loop as such. Does anyone have an easy-to-read example of a game loop that takes these into account?
Advertisement
Quote:how does this work with event-driven things
You'll probably end up with a very tight (and simplistic) "inner loop" that does what you listed (the basic checking/updating) that fires off events.

Our cross-platform game engine uses a variety of message passing and callbacks.

The "get input" code is a good example - on every iteration of the game you'd check for new input (this is very dependent on the API you use), and if something has happened (e.g. a key-press) you send off a "Keydown[LEFT_ARROW]" type message. Any other objects can then pick up and process this information if they want to.

Much like the standard Win32 msgproc/message queue.