• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
cybbe

OpenGL Maya 6 .X Exporter, no materials?

This topic is 5092 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I'm quite new to DirectX and been working with OpenGL before. Now I was more than happy try out the .X model format. I tried a couple of tutorials / examples and was amazed how easy it was. Then I saw that DirectX 9.0c comes with an .x exporter for maya 6. But now when trying it it seems that even if I set every material setting there is in maya the .x files still are plain black with no material properties what so ever, not even textures. I've not tried this that much but I took a poly cube in maya and did it green with a texture. After I'd exported it I opened it in MeshViewer (all black) so I looked in the file and the material is completely zerofied. Is is just me or is it broken beyond all recognition? I was lucky enough to get a maya 6 license for no use? >< Sad if I would be better off with maya 5. I've searched several forums but no success. However I couldn't search this since the search function is disabled. :S

Advertisement
Are you calling LoadMeshFromX() (something like that). Then again, maya does use it's own texture format, iff. In my case, the mesh had the uv's defined but yes, it did not reference any textures correctly. What i do is assign a placeholder texture to the model.

Personally I prefer the x exporter for 3dsmax. Then again, I simply prefer to use 3dsmax.

vajuras and WilyCoder. I'm using the official MeshViewer that comes with the DirectX SDK (or is it Windows...) Well anyhow. It supports lighting at least and textures aswell I guess. However it always displays it black. And if I open the model the material bracket looks something similar to this:

Material {
0.00000;0.00000;0.00000;0.00000;
0.00000;
0.00000;0.00000;0.00000;
0.00000;0.00000;0.00000;
}