Sign in to follow this  

D3DXVECTOR3 assignment question (newbie)

This topic is 4732 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm fairly new to both C++ and DX9, but I don't think I've missed anything obvious. I'm learning here and am creating a Camera class in C++. The class has several D3DXVECTOR3 member variables. I've found that I can't do: myVectorVar = [1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f]; There appear to be no assignment operator overloads for the D3DXVECTOR3 that takes three floats. Am I missing something obvious here? Is there an easy way to add this functionality? Is there a better way of doing this? Thanks all!

you can initialize your vector when you create it

D3DXVECTOR3 myVec(1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);

however if you want to reasign values to your vector variable, then you have to do it the old way

myVec.x = 1.0f;
myVec.y = 0.0f;
myVec.z = 0.0f;

or create a temporary object just to reasign values to your vector

myVec = D3DXVECTOR3(1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);

Quote:
Original post by mike25025
myVectorVar = D3DXVECTOR3(1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);

That works.

Just to ensure that I understand (I'm self-taught in C/C++ and have gaps in my understanding)....

This expression creates a temporary, unnamed D3DXVECTOR3 struct using the assignment operator (float, float, float), then assigns it to myVectorVar using the assignment operator that accepts a D3DXVECTOR3, then discards the unnamed temp D3DXVECTOR3 struct. Right? (At least this is what happens conceptually, right?)

Thank you for your help!

Quote:
Original post by NogginBoink
Quote:
Original post by mike25025
myVectorVar = D3DXVECTOR3(1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);

That works.

Just to ensure that I understand (I'm self-taught in C/C++ and have gaps in my understanding)....