Sign in to follow this  

C# questions

This topic is 4734 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm learning C#, and I'm very impressed so far. As a C++ programmer, I have two questions though: What's the difference between a multi-dimensional array and a jagged array? And... I can't understand a delegate, is it just a function pointer? Thanks!

I've just started reading about C# as well, so maybe I can help.

A multidimensional array has the same cardinality within a dimension; a jagged array relaxes that restriction.

For example, in 2-dimensions:
Array : 10 rows, each row has exactly 8 elements
Jagged array : 10 rows, which have 1, 2, ..., 10 elements respectively.

Think of a jagged array like a std::vector<std::vector<something> > - not every element of the first dimension needs to have the same number of elements.

A delegate, from what I've read so far, is indeed identical to a function pointer (or pointer to member function) in C/C++. However, you can bind more than one to a function call, using + and -, meaning that you can call more than one delegate with one call (once you've bound them).

HTH,
Jim.

The interesting part of the delegate is that it binds not just a function pointer, but also an object together. Calling a delegate is like calling that member function on a specific instance of a class.

A delegate is a type safe function pointer with much more functionality. However, its performance is quite lacking and is indeed quite slow. There are some articles on msdn.microsoft.com that have benchmark results. I suggest searching through and reading them.

Not sure what the difference between the two arrays are other than one is used with [i, i] and the other is [i][i]. I personally stick with [i][i] (jagged array I believe?) as it's more intuitive.