Sign in to follow this  

dynamic objects

This topic is 4729 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey All, I am a newbie at fps game programming. One thing i would like to know is how do you store objects that are not static in bsp games (ie moveable, change state) eg doors, moveable blocks etc. In relation to the bsp how are they stored inside them or do they have to be stored in an object database? Another question i would like to ask is how would you deal with blowing a hole in the ground and using it as like a trench. Does the hole have to be an entity or just change the heightmaps of the environment? I hope you understand what i'm asking, Thanks, Victor

Quote:
Original post by khanage
Hey All,
I am a newbie at fps game programming. One thing i would like to know is how do you store objects that are not static in bsp games (ie moveable, change state) eg doors, moveable blocks etc. In relation to the bsp how are they stored inside them or do they have to be stored in an object database?

just add them to map like your player model, i mean they are model and not a part of the bsp.

Quote:
Original post by khanage Another question i would like to ask is how would you deal with blowing a hole in the ground and using it as like a trench. Does the hole have to be an entity or just change the heightmaps of the environment?

sorry my english is not soo good.

i think a good way to solve the "blowing a hole" problem would be to make an object that looks like the rest of the terrain over it then when the right conditions are met like a bomb goes off on it you delete the land over the hole and vola you have a hole. (you can of course add animations and such to make it look cool but that is the basic prenciple

Hey All,
Thanks for the reply stroma.

Just elaborating on my questions.