Sign in to follow this  

Creating a Wrapper few questions.

This topic is 4729 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've never coded a wrapper before, so I have a few questions. First, I'd like to mention that I'm looking over the source code for a Hekkus wrapper. It basically wraps everything into C functions, compiles into a .dll, then wraps those functions in a .NET class by calling them from the .dll. My questions pertain to the C++ code. I've been reading the msdn library and I just want to make sure I have the terminology correct. First question:
#ifdef __cplusplus
extern "C"
{
#endif // __cplusplus
This basically declares all functions within the { } as C functions, which means they can be used by the C language. My question is, why is this necessary for creating a .dll, or is it not? Is there a reason why the functions must be exported as C functions? Second question: #define HEKKUS_API __declspec(dllexport) HEKKUS_API Sound* __stdcall Sound_Create(HINSTANCE hInst); This basically says the function is to be exported for use, right? Although, I am curious, if we are creating a .dll wouldn't we want all the functions to be exported? So what would the purpose of dllimport be? This is in the header file:
#ifdef HEKKUSSS_EXPORTS
#define HEKKUS_API __declspec(dllexport)
#else
#define HEKKUS_API __declspec(dllimport)
#endif