Sign in to follow this  

im insrested in making a video game

This topic is 4731 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi i would be intrested in making,designing,coding and programming a video game so if u could help me or give tips or tell me and teach me a few things cuss im new to it so please will u help me please.

You might want to start off with learning c. Then graduate into c++. If you find yourself having a hard time understanding c, then try qbasic. Qbasic is very old, and not very powerful, but I learned a lot of the basic programming concepts in qbasic, such as loops and if statements. Some might suggest you start with Java, but I haven't ever programmed in Java. When I first started programming, I tried Java, but it forces you into object oriented stuff, and I found that a little overwhelming at first.
If you decide to go the c/c++ route, the only complier I can recommend is MinGW Studio. It is free, and has a nice ide that is easy to learn. I have also heard that devc++ is good, but I have no expirence with it myself.
The main thing to keep in mind is start off small. Don't set your beginning expectations to high, or you will disappoint yourself, and might wind up quitting as a result. Take the time to learn the console functions, and make some simple programs like a number guessing game and such.
And use GameDev!!! These guys are great here. They have never failed to answer a question I asked. Sometimes you might have to reword your question, but be patient. You will get your answer. Just be as specific as possible to start out with.
Good luck, and happy programming!!!

Quote:
Original post by mrtie_dye