Sign in to follow this  

Lightmaps .X

This topic is 4730 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, First of all i'd like to note that I'm a stupid artist, so If I'll write something wrong, bare with me. I was wondering how is the easiest way to implend Lightmaps into Game. We are using .x format. Right now I understoud that 2 sets of UVW coords are needed for that, 1 for basic textures and other for Lightmap, .X seems to support only 1... Any help is welcome ;) Thank you for your time, Jyri

Hi,

I'll assume that by mentioning '.X' files you're using Direct3D? Thus this answer is dependent on that assumption [grin]

There are a few D3DX methods (ID3DXMesh::CloneFVF()) that will allow you to convert a loaded mesh into a slightly different format. In your case, it could be used to add an additional set of texture coordinates.

You could then gain access to the geometry of the mesh and fill in the missing texture coordinated accordingly. Whether you're doing this just to make some pre-existing lightmaps match up, or just setting up some texture coordinates so that you can then generate your lightmaps in-game doesn't really matter here.

Alternatively, the easiest method would be to author to the initial model so that you can load it straight in with lightmaps included. That would be your area being "a stupid artist" [wink]...

I think thats all I can think of right now, but if you need a more specific answer then let me (us?) know and I'm sure we can help out..

Jack

Hi,

Thanks jollyjeffers for replying :) I'm the coder who's working w/ Jyri... Anyways just wanted to clarify the question a bit...