Sign in to follow this  

multiple definition of ""

This topic is 4726 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi guys! Erm, yer, I'm new to c++ coding and i think i'll mention now i hate Classes and tbh they're not very relavent to my current project. So plz dn't mind the fact i'm not using them. I have a lot of source files, all of which i want to be able to use a few global variables. So i have the header file 'global_data.h' contaning includes to all other header files and also holding my global data in the form: extern bool GameStatus; I then have a c++ file called 'global_data.cpp' that includes 'global_data.h' and in which i have my data actually being declared in the form: bool GameStatus; Which is outside any functions. My other headers and main.cpp all include 'global_data.h'. All headers are correctly wrapped. I get multiple definition errors on ALL of my global variables lol. Please help. Thanks. BTW i'm using Dev C++ 4.9.9.1 along with some SDL extentions.

Quote:
Original post by Scribe
I get multiple definition errors on ALL of my global variables lol.

What you described should work. As long as you are externing them in translation units that need to access them and only defining them in exactly one cpp file, then you shouldn't get any link errors. Check the exact error and see if it mentions which translation units have the definitions and then see if you accidently defined them in those additional files as well.

Quote:
Original post by Scribe
I have a lot of source files, all of which i want to be able to use a few global variables. So i have the header file 'global_data.h' contaning includes to all other header files and also holding my global data in the form:

My other headers and main.cpp all include 'global_data.h'.