• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Advice on Structuring My Classes

This topic is 4887 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm currently implementing the enemy class into my game engine. However, I'm trying to decide where to put the class and how to go about getting access to variables in other classes. Consider this: I have my master class, CEngine. It includes the CPlayer class and the CMap class (as well as countless others, of course, but that's beside the point). Now, my CEnemy class requires information about the tiles from the map (CMap), as well as the stats of the player (CPlayer). Where would you stick CEnemy and why? And how will you go about getting the above information from CPlayer and CMap? I have came up with a few solutions that you can feel free to criticize. 1. Put CEnemy into CEngine, and keep a local copy of the map and the player inside CEnemy. When CEnemy is done with a function that affects something from the map or the player, CEngine should take CEnemy's local copies and copy them over CMap's or CPlayer's data. 2. Put CEnemy into CEngine, and give CEnemy pointers to CMap and CPlayer. This way, any alterations will occur automatically (though it sounds good, someone told me this is bad. I forget why...) 3. Put CEnemy into CEngine, and every time you need to run a function in CEnemy, you give it the required information via parameters. Then, changes can be returned from the function (this way, there are no local copies) 4. Your suggestion here. EDIT: forgot my third method in the original post.

Advertisement
Why not have two function in CEngine one of which returns a pointer to the player and another a pointer to the map? Then when a CEnemy wants to access them for whatever reason it can.