• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

difference between char *array[5] and char **array

This topic is 4764 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi to everyone and happy new year. I'm studying C at the moment and try to wipe out all my questions about pointers. Say we have the following piece of code.
char **array1;
char *array2[5];

array1 = malloc(5 * sizeof(char));
array1[0] = "blabla";
array1[1] = "more blabla";
array2[0] = "even more babbling";
...etc.
Is there any difference in the memory layout of the two variables? Are they accessed the same way? I mean the expression
*(*(array + 1))
*(*(array1 + 1))
accesses the 1st character of the second row in both arrays. Do you know any resource where I could read more about pointer arrays and multidimensional pointers? Thanks for your time :)

Advertisement
Ok, I'll explain the second one first. char* array2[5] declares an array of 5 char* pointers. The size of each element in array2 depends on the machine you are programming. On x86 (32-bit) systems, the size of each element would be 4 bytes.

An example for how to use this array is given below:

char* array2[5];
char a = 50;
char b = 100;

array2[0] = &a;
array2[1] = &b;

At the end of the above example, the first element of array2 (at index 0) would store the address of the char 'a'. Similarly, the second element of array2 would store the address of the char 'b'.

If you need an array of chars to represent a string, then you would use:

char myString[20] = "Hello World";

This would declare an array of 20 chars and initialize 12 elements of the array: 11 for the values of each character plus a null termination value of 0 will be stored in the 12th element of the array (at index 11).