• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
TheToad

Questions about call the CreateDevice().

This topic is 4892 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm going to label myself a Beginner and not a newbie as I have been running across this problem for a couple of years now and have yet to find someone with a definitive answer. I have an older PC (Dell with Intel) that I have just brought up to Windows XP, VC++ 6.0, and directX 9. I also have a pretty new PC (Alienware with a much newer graphics card) with the same setup. When calling the CreateDevice routine on my newer PC, I can use the _D3DDEVTYPE value of 'D3DDEVTYPE_HAL' as the second parameter and my program works beautifully in full screen mode. However, the exact same (a copy) of the code on my older PC fails. On older boxes, I have sometimes gotten around this by using 'D3DDEVTYPE_REF' as the second parameter in my call to CreateDevice(). However, I can't get my game to work on my older PC. My current guess is that my older PC does not support Hardware Acceleration. But if 'REF' doesnt work, what should? Does anyone know (or know of a tutorial) on how 'professional' games create their full windowed devices. Do they use the CreateDevice() routine or not? Is there some checking of the system hardware/software that can be done to properly construct the CreateDevice() parameters. Does anyone have experience with the RegisterSoftwareDevice() routine and using 'D3DDEVTYPE_SW' as the second parameter to CreateDevice().

Advertisement
There are currently no TYPE_SW devices in DirectX. Apparently some groups are working on some, but I think none are currently available.